Preservation of community history is a priority of the Village of Addison. In 1973. the Addison Historical Commission was created. The commission is composed of nine community volunteers who are appointed by the Village Board to serve three year terms. The duties of the commission are: keep an up to date history of the Village, maintain and staff an historical museum, provide for the safekeeping of historical items and accept donations.
In 1976, the Village partnered with the Addison Historical Society to open the Addison Historical Museum. In 1999, the historic 1892 Balzer House and 1932 Coach House were moved from their Lake Street location to property adjacent to the 1893 Century House to create the museum campus.
In 1998, the Addison Historical District was formed for the purpose of protecting and preserving historical structures along West Army Trail Bld. including the 1893 Century House, the 1892 Balzer House, and proposed new historical museum, and the 1917 former home of Lutheran school teachers. In 1999, the Historical District was expanded to include the former St. Paul Church parsonage, St. Paul Evangelical Lutheran Church and St. Paul Concord School.Museum Mission: The Addison Historical Museum is a cooperative venture of the Addison Historical Society and the Village of Addison which bridges the past, present and future by procuring, preserving and presenting Village history and engaging its diverse and vibrant community
. (adopted 9.10.2018)
Museum Vision: Engaging the Community in Addison's History (adopted 11.5.2018)